Skip to main content



Chateau Lafayette Pre-History, Part 2: 1863-1883

Looking West from Court House to Parliament Hill, ca. 1867. [Orig. image via Library & Archives – colourized by Ashley Newall] Ottawa's Chateau Lafayette has a long and rich history, dating back to 1849. This is Part 2 of a 5-part series chronicling that history before 1936, when it became the bar simply known as “The Laff.” 

Latest Posts

Chateau Lafayette Pre-History, Part 1: 1849-1863

Ashley Newall's "Greatest Misses" Now On Soundcloud

CBC "This Is Ottawa" Podcast, Ep. 3: Union Station vs. Ottawa Train Station

Book Launch: "The Ontario Bond Scandal of 1924 Re-Examined"

Sens Arenas of Yesteryear

Where Did Pure Spring Get Its Water? Brading's '1000-Foot' Well

Black Yachting History: The Captain & The Commodore

“Aemilius Jarvis driving a car” – Famous Photo Explained

Ottawa Colourized Vernissage Launch Party: Speech & Pics

Capital History Ottawa (#colourized): Vernissage at Irene's Pub, Dec. 5-31 (2022)